Level 60- I made it

Well here we are. 2 years and 2 months after starting this journey, I have finally reached the peak of the WaniKani mountain. Must admit, it’s a damn good feeling. WaniKani has been an indispensable tool for me; a constant in a hectic world. Every morning, log on review, go to work, come home, review, repeat.
WaniKani has helped me more than I could have ever imagined when I started studying Japanese on TextFugu 3 years ago and has taken me to a place I never dreamed of. When I began studying Japanese I was severely depressed through bombing my college exams ( the first time I had ever really failed anything properly) and in turn, I turned down the chance to study Criminology at university to instead work dead-end jobs, as I believed, that was all I was good for.
Then a friend of mine introduced me to One Piece. And I fell in love. And then, I looked into it further, and found it that it was an anime- something I didn’t know existed. For a couple of months, I immersed myself in that world- watching and gradually enjoying life a little more. After some research, I discovered that One Piece was originally a manga- which, again, I had know idea about what it actually was. And I fell in love all over again- reading all genres of manga I could find.
But, here is where things changed. I found out that many of the manga I was reading (on an app at the time) hadn’t been translated into English- and naively thought, “Oh, I’ll just go learn some Japanese then”. That was possibly the best choices I have ever made. I stumbled through some textbooks before finding solace in TextFugu (which made the basics so simple and is probably the main reason I am still going) and then discovering WaniKani was a tool made by the same website/company. And I was sold. From then, I haven’t looked back- studying the language, culture, food etc. at any chance I got.