1yr Studying Japanese - Resources Used and A Love Letter to Japan

Hi fellow Japanese students. I’m Gabriel from Portugal and this is my story:

Today, August 1 2019, marks one year since I started studying Japanese. It has been a fantastic journey, without a single day off, with lots of new things learned, not just the language but also many things about the Japanese culture. I feel like a whole new person from a year ago. This is also the first time I’m learning a language actively and not passively like I did for English and Spanish, which I’ve been acquiring for years.

Even though I started studying the language a year ago, my love for Japan started way before that. I always liked Anime, ever since I was a kid. Several years ago, back in 2009-10, I started watching NHK World regularly and seeing all those shows about Japanese culture really started to resonate with me. I began to see the real Japan, not just through Anime, but from real people as well. You see, if Japan was a woman, it would be my soul mate, because we have so many things in common. I love its culture, its food, its values, its language, its Women… Anyway, I feel like I was born in the wrong country…

Before starting my learning journey, I had no previous Japanese knowledge. I mean, I couldn’t even count to ten and only knew a handful of words. This is what I recommend for absolute beginners: before starting with any other resources, spend some time learning Hiragana and Katakana. With effort, you can learn them in a couple of weeks.