10分で読める物語 二年生 Stories 4 (お月よ) & 5 (パンのかけらと小さなあくま)

Join the Absolute Beginner Book Club here!

10分で読める物語 二年生 Home thread

Welcome to the thread for the short poem named お月よ and the fifth story called パンのかけらと小さなあくま from the book 10分で読める物語 二年生!

Start Date: 13.10.2019

Previous thread: 10分で読める物語 二年生 Story 3 (さるじぞう)

Next thread:

Reading schedule:

• 13.10.2019: page 50-52
  • 14.10.2019: page 53
  • 15.10.2019: page 54
  • 16.10.2019: page 55
  • 17.10.2019: page 57
  • 18.10.2019: page 58
  • 19.10.2019: page 59
  • 20.10.2019: page 60
  • 21.10.2019: page 61
  • 22.10.2019: page 62
  • 23.10.2019: page 64
  • 24.10.2019: page 65
  • 25.10.2019: page 66
  • 26.10.2019: page 67
  • 27.10.2019: page 68
  • 28.10.2019: page 70
  • 29.10.2019: page 71
  • 30.10.2019: page 72

Vocabulary List

Discussion Rules

• Please use spoiler tags for major events on the current page and any content in future pages.
  • When asking for help, please mention the page number.
  • Don’t be afraid of asking questions, even if they seem embarassing at first. All of us are here to learn.
  • To you lurkers out there: Join the conversation, it’s fun!

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll.

• I’m reading along

• I’m skipping this book

• I’m planning to catch up later

• I will join a future story

0 voters

2 Likes

Hello everyone, I am back safely in the USA. Hopefully everyone in the path of the typhoon is safe and sound.
I am posting the whole poem today since I will not have a computer tomorrow. Also, there is some information about the author at the bottom.

Page 50

お月夜 Moonlit night

トソ、トソ、トソ、あけてください。どなたです。わたしゃ木の葉よ。トソ、コトリ。

Tap, Tap, Tap, please open the door. Who (is it). I am the leaves. Tap, little bird.

Summary

トソ onomotopeia (knocking sound)

あけて ください 開ける to open (a door, etc.)

どなたです 何方 . who?​ Usually written using kana alone,

わたしゃ I am (honorific style)

木の葉 Noun 1. foliage; leaves of trees​

コトリ ことり 小鳥 Noun 1. small bird; little bird​