10 Minute Biographies Book Club Chapter 3 (Absolute Beginner Book Club)

10 Minute Biographies Chapter Three: Beethoven

Start Date: 9th December

Previous Chapter: Chapter 2
Next Chapter: Chapter 4
Home Thread: Link

Schedule

We are reading at the pace of one page per day. If a sentence crosses two pages it is read as part of the first page.

Daily reading schedule
Date Page Last Line of Page
Dec 9 43 Chapter title page
Dec 10 44 男の子、ルートビッヒ・バン・
Dec 11 45 たたかれる ことも ありました。
Dec 12 46 ちがい、ピアノを のびのびと
Dec 13 47 大すきに なりました。
Dec 14 48 ウィーン ー よし、やってやるぞ!)
Dec 15 49 モーツャルトは 見向きも しません。
Dec 16 50 会場の みんなに 言いました。
Dec 17 51 音楽家に なるに ちがいない。」
Dec 18 52 病気は 日に日に ひどくなり、
Dec 19 53 ええい、しんでしまえ。」
Dec 20 54 気持ちが わきあがるのを かんじたのです。
Dec 21 55 それを 曲に しよう。」
Dec 22 56 どんどん 生みだしていきました。
Dec 23 57 ベートーベンは 、五十六さいで なくなるまでに、
Dec 24 58 End of chapter

Vocabulary List

Please read the editing guidelines in the first sheet before adding any words!

Grammar Sheet

Discussion Guidelines

• When asking for help, please mention the page number, and check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked

• If posting a complete translation of a sentence we generally blur / hide this, as seeing the translation may be a spoiler for those who haven’t read that part yet and wanted to translate for themselves. The easiest way to do this is select the text, click on the cog icon, and select “Blur Spoiler”, or you can type it like this: [spoiler]texthere[/spoiler]

• Join the conversation - it’s fun!

6 Likes

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll:

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading but I haven’t reached this part yet
  • I’m dropping this book

0 voters

If you’ve read it before but will join in the discussion (or have read ahead), please select “I’m reading along”!

1 Like
title p. 43

ベートーベン
Beethoven
耳が聞こえなくなってもくじけず、美しい音楽を作った。
He composed beautiful music without being disheartened by his increasing deafness.

(In fact, I think he was disheartened.)

4 Likes