10 Minute Biographies Home Thread (Absolute Beginner Book Club) - Finished!

Welcome to 10分で読める伝記(2年生) - 10 Minute Biographies (2nd Grade Reader) Book Club!

We read this book between November 2020 and April 2021. The book is available as a digital book or a physical book.

We read this as the Absolute Beginner Book Club. This book club aims to help readers who are new to native Japanese content successfully read their first book. We try and pick books that are a good level for beginners, read at a steady pace, and encourage readers to ask any basic question about the text.

Visit the Absolute Beginner Book Club Home Thread to see what we’ve read already, and to get involved in picking the next books.

Book Summary

This book contains short biographies of 12 famous people from around the world. It includes stories of the lives of Osamu Tezuka (often called the “Father of Manga”), Sesshu Toyo (15th century Japanese artist), Leonardo da Vinci, and Ernest Thompson Seton (founder of the Boy Scouts of America).

This is part of a set of books aimed at Japanese elementary school children. This particular volume is aimed at students in the second grade. This means about 80% of the kanji used are from the first ten levels of Wanikani, and all of the kanji used should be from the first 18 levels of Wanikani. All of the kanji have furigana. The grammar used is generally JLPT N4 and N5 level.

The book is illustrated and the text is large and easy to read (no squinting at tiny characters). Click here to look at the original nomination post and see some example pages and the table of contents.

One of the advantages of this book is that each chapter stands alone. So if you fall behind at any point, it is easy to skip a chapter or two and catch up again with where the main group is reading.

Schedule & Discussion Thread Links

Chapter Page Biography Start Date
Chapter 1 10 Edison Nov 7
Chapter 2 27 Marie Curie Nov 23
Chapter 3 43 Beethoven Dec 9