Whew, Hello Sixty!

Level 60!

I signed up for WaniKani on 4 September 2017, so got to level 60 in 22 months, including a month in vacation mode. I started out pushing hard, and would level up in near maximum time, seven or eight days. My goal at that time was to be prepared for a three-week vacation in Japan. (It paid off, big time!) Upon return, it took about a week before I could really commit to restarting, and it was painful, of course. But that’s all just the SRS working for you. At that point, I realized I needed to slow down, so I migrated to doing no more than 8 lessons a day. This pace has really helped things stay more sane this past year.

My Learning Path

I studied Japanese most intensively as an undergraduate, over 25 years ago. I learned a lot then, with a strong immersive approach based on Communicating in Japanese. I spent eight months living in Kyōto as part of a study abroad and did pretty well communicating about daily subjects and things historical (related to my studies and diving into 文語). But when I returned to the states, I didn’t have any time to keep up with Japanese so I forgot a LOT. Back then, I never got to the point where I read whole books, mostly just essays and short works as part of classwork.

Over the years since then, I’ve toyed with trying to rebuild my skills, but not had much luck. I tried a couple classes, but these were too remedial given how much I already knew. I also tried language exchange for a while, but those ended as students moved back to Japan. My most recent foray put me in DuoLingo, where I quickly worked through everything they had to offer at that time (right after they introduced it two years ago). That gave me confidence that most of my grammar was still there, but I knew that in order to read (something I wanted to be able to do), I needed to get kanji back in my brain. At that time, I knew maybe 150 kanji to read and write.

The Rough Patches