しろくまカフェ: Week 13 Discussion (Chapters 25 and 26)

Join the Absolute Beginner Book Club here!

しろくまカフェ home thread

Chapters 25 and 26

Start date: June 5th
Previous Chapter: Chapter 24
Next chapter: Chapters 27 and 28

Page numbers

b174615ec62c30e5548289f3be860f5e4a748deb

Vocabulary list

You can also check the page numbers for new and old versions here. If you have an old version, chapters 24-28 are in the second volume!

Discussion Rules

• Please use spoiler tags for major events in the current chapter(s) and any content in future chapters.
  • When asking for help, please mention the chapter and page number. Also mention what version of the book you are reading.
  • Don’t be afraid of asking questions, even if they seem embarrassing at first. All of us are here to learn.
  • To you lurkers out there: Join the conversation, it’s fun! :panda_face:

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll.

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading the book but I haven’t reached this chapter yet
  • I’m no longer reading this book
  • I’m skipping this book

0 voters

2 Likes

Someday I’ll catch up…

3 Likes

It’s okay :wink: I’m still catching up too, I’ve had a headache for two days now, but I will start reading again soon /o/ The threads won’t go anywhere, everyone is always welcome to ask questions \o/

1 Like

A new employee for the cafe!

It’s a bit funny the Japanese word for badger is “hole bear”, 穴熊.

The second chapter this week reminded me of this video:

I watched that a few years ago, and, after the reading this week, went back and watched it again. They dig up bamboo shoots and then cook some out in the forest. They actually make some of the food mentioned in the chapter (タケノコのさしみにホイルやき and タケノコごはん, and use the 木の芽 that Penguin mentions, though she calls it by the name of the plant, 山椒.)

4 Likes

Ahh, I wanna try that now.