結婚しても恋してる: Week 6 Discussion

Join the Absolute Beginner Book Club here!

結婚しても恋してる home thread

Week 6

Start date: September 21st
Previous Thread: Week 5
Next Thread: Week 7

Reading:

Week Pages Chapters
Week 6 12 クリスマスはいつも [1+4], 私のサンタさん [2] (End of Ch 4), それってつもり [1+1], それってつもり2 [1], 有無といわさない笑顔 [2]

Vocabulary List

Discussion Rules

• Please use spoiler tags for major events in the current chapter(s) and any content in future chapters.
  • When asking for help, please mention the chapter and page number. Also mention what version of the book you are reading.
  • Don’t be afraid of asking questions, even if they seem embarassing at first. All of us are here to learn.
  • To you lurkers out there: Join the conversation, it’s fun! :two_hearts:

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll.

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading the book but I haven’t reached this chapter yet
  • I’m no longer reading this book
  • I’m skipping this book

0 voters

5 Likes

Can I start us off with the ツイート on page 61:

好きになって良かったなって何度でも思う。
結婚して良かったなって何度でも思う。

てよかった means “I’m glad that…” (I learned that yesterday!) (EDIT - thanks for spotting the typo @marcusp)

So the first part means “I’m glad that I fell in love”

The next part is:
なって - become
何度でも - any number of times
思う - think

So the whole sentence maybe means:

I become glad that I fell in love with you however many times I think about it?

3 Likes

Hmmm I might be wrong but my understanding is a bit different.

なって => I believe this is actually the な sentence ending particle (a softer version of ね) ; followed by って, the informal quotation particle. So basically, we have an inner sentence that looks like:

好きになって良かったな => I’m glad that I fell in love with you
This gets quoted by って and becomes the object of the rest of the sentence (何度でも思う)

So basically:

I’ve thought countless times that I’m glad that I fell in love with you

4 Likes