レンタルおにいちゃん - Week 4 Discussion (Absolute Beginners Book Club)

レンタルおにいちゃん Week Four: Pages 35-46

Start Date: 29th August

Last Week: Week 3
Next Week: Week 5
Home Thread: Link

Vocabulary List

Created by @ChristopherFritz. Please read the editing guidelines in the first sheet before adding any words!

*Created by @nfive. Contains list of grammar points for the week with links to Bunpro explanations.

Discussion Guidelines

• Please blur / hide any major events in the current week’s pages (however early they occur), like so: [spoiler]texthere[/spoiler]

• When asking for help, please mention the page number, and check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked

• Join the conversation - it’s fun!

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll:

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading but haven’t reached this part yet
  • I’m dropping this book

0 voters

If you’ve read it before but will join in the discussion (or have read ahead), please select “I’m reading along”!

8 Likes

I want to keep reading. :smiley:

5 Likes

Pg. 37

-I tried to break down 書けることなんてあるわけないじゃん.

書けること= act of writing
なんて = something like
ある = exist
わけない = DeepL says “there is no way,” Jisho suggests it’s the negative of “separate.” I’m going with DeepL.
じゃん = right?
There is no way something to write exists, right?
She doesn’t have anything to write about, does she?

Is わけない just an phrase to be memorized or can anyone offer any insight into it?

7 Likes

Pg. 37

だった参観に来てくれる家族もいないのなにさあ。

来てくれる So I looked it up and this means something like “do us a favor by coming.” That English translation sounds a little sarcastic. Is this just a default polite way of speaking in Japanese?

5 Likes

I too was super confused until I found definition 2 here: Jisho.org: Japanese Dictionary

At which point everything clicked so I think your translation is correct.