レンタルおにいちゃん - Week 3 Discussion (Absolute Beginners Book Club)

レンタルおにいちゃん Week Three: Pages 23-32

Start Date: 22nd August

Last Week: Week 2
Next Week: Week 4
Home Thread: Link

Vocabulary List

Created by @ChristopherFritz. Please read the editing guidelines in the first sheet before adding any words!

*Created by @nfive. Contains list of grammar points for the week with links to Bunpro explanations.

Discussion Guidelines

• Please blur / hide any major events in the current week’s pages (however early they occur), like so: [spoiler]texthere[/spoiler]

• When asking for help, please mention the page number, and check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked

• Join the conversation - it’s fun!

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll:

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading but haven’t reached this part yet
  • I’m dropping this book

0 voters

If you’ve read it before but will join in the discussion (or have read ahead), please select “I’m reading along”!

10 Likes

Page 23

初めて会った時と一緒だね

To me this literally says “This is the first time we’ve met together”. Is there any grammar in here that is giving the idea of “this is just like the first time…”?

Page 31

俺は上手く笑えているだろうか

I feel like I understand all of the parts of this sentence individually, and I get the gist, but I’m not sure how to put it together. I’m not sure what potential + ている form signifies (continuing potential?) and I’m not sure what 上手く笑える means other than to be able to skillfully (successfully?) laugh.

7 Likes

p. 23

Not grammar, but vocabulary.
It is the third meaning “same; identical” in

初めて合った時:when we first met
と: quotes the phrase before
一緒だ:it is the same

giving: “It is the same as when we first met.”

20 Likes

Completely missed that meaning of 一緒! Thanks, makes perfect sense now. I’ll have to remember と一緒 for the future now.

7 Likes