レンタルおにいちゃん - Week 2 Discussion (Absolute Beginners Book Club)

レンタルおにいちゃん Week Two: Pages 13-22

Start Date: 15th August

Last Week: Week 1
Next Week: Week 3
Home Thread: Link

Vocabulary List

Created by @ChristopherFritz. Please read the editing guidelines in the first sheet before adding any words!

*Created by @nfive. Contains list of grammar points for the week with links to Bunpro explanations.

Discussion Guidelines

• Please blur / hide any major events in the current week’s pages (however early they occur), like so: [spoiler]texthere[/spoiler]

• When asking for help, please mention the page number, and check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked

• Join the conversation - it’s fun!

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll:

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading but haven’t reached this part yet
  • I’m dropping this book

0 voters

If you’ve read it before but will join in the discussion (or have read ahead), please select “I’m reading along”!

13 Likes

This chapter is getting more and more interesting and sad.
This week goes until page 25, right? Home thread says 22, but Wocab list is until 25 and there are some pages without text.

I see that they use でしまう or ちゃう grammar point a lot, but I am not sure about something that looks similar:
しちゃやだ on page 21, upper panel
Please, if you have any guesses help me!

6 Likes

This week goes to page 22. We read pages 23-32 next week to finish chapter one.

5 Likes

Apologies, that was my mistake, I was adding vocab as I read and mixed my page numbers up. Once I sorted them out I forgot to transfer the vocab to the correct tab before I went to bed.

That should be it fixed now

7 Likes

Yes! I had the same question about the しちゃやだ usage.

1 Like

So パパとママ are dead, right? I guess the reason I ask is Kanami says 帰ってきてよ but she knows they can’t come back, right?

4 Likes

Page 20