レンタルおにいちゃん - Week 10 Discussion (Absolute Beginners Book Club)

レンタルおにいちゃん Week Ten: Pages 117-130

Start Date: 10th October

Last Week: Week 9
Next Week: Week 11
Home Thread: Link

Vocabulary List

Created by @ChristopherFritz. Please read the editing guidelines in the first sheet before adding any words!

*Created by @nfive. Contains list of grammar points for the week with links to Bunpro explanations.

Discussion Guidelines

• Please blur / hide any major events in the current week’s pages (however early they occur), like so: [spoiler]texthere[/spoiler]

• When asking for help, please mention the page number, and check before posting that your question hasn’t already been asked

• Join the conversation - it’s fun!

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll:

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading but haven’t reached this part yet
  • I’m dropping this book

0 voters

If you’ve read it before but will join in the discussion (or have read ahead), please select “I’m reading along”!

7 Likes

Page 129 shows why it can be important to learn/know some sound effects when it comes to reading manga. The dialogue gives an idea of what’s going on, but the sound effects can really put you right into the scene, hearing what is heard in those panels as they go by.

6 Likes

Page 127
I had a lot of trouble with this sentence:
おにいちゃんを取り返しのつかないことに巻き込んでしまうかもしれない
Until I finally dumped the whole thing into jisho in frustration and found out that 取り返しのつかない is an adjective expression meaning “cannot be undone” and now it suddenly clicks. So posting that here in case others are confused.

Page 129-130

What happened?