チーズスイートホーム: Week 5 Discussion (Chapters 13-15)

Join the Absolute Beginner Book Club here!

チーズスイートホーム home thread

Chapters 13-15

Start date: July 20th
Previous Chapter: Chapters 10-12
Next Chapter: Chapters 16-18

Vocabulary list

Discussion Rules

• Please use spoiler tags for major events in the current chapter(s) and any content in future chapters.
  • When asking for help, please mention the chapter and page number. Also mention what version of the book you are reading.
  • Don’t be afraid of asking questions, even if they seem embarrassing at first. All of us are here to learn.
  • To you lurkers out there: Join the conversation, it’s fun! :cat:

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll.

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading the book but I haven’t reached this chapter yet
  • I’m no longer reading this book
  • I’m skipping this book

0 voters

8 Likes

A question please meow~

Chapter 15, Page 121

Veterinarian tells dad “あと1ヵ月ぐらいしたらワクチンしにまた来てね”
I am having trouble figuring out what したら is doing there. The only thing that comes to mind is that this comes from する in たら conditional form. But する what exactly… ?

Jisho does mention there’s a くらいする, that means “to rank (as); to occupy (a position)​; to be located (in); to be situated​” but doesn’t seem to fit.

Any help is appreciated!

1 Like

Definition 10 of する is “10. to pass (of time); to elapse​ Usually written using kana alone” so using this along with the “when” or “after” aspect of -たら, you get something along the lines of “After another month passes, come in again for a vaccine.”

6 Likes

Oh, I don’t think I’ve run into that usage of する before. Thank you for the help!

1 Like

Chapters 14 and 15 were pretty fun!

I have to check a couple of words from chapter 13, although I think I got them from context

Poor little チー, the humans really are horrible! :scream_cat:

We now know/have confirmation that she’s a… she \o/ :stuck_out_tongue: