チーズスイートホーム: Week 3 Discussion (Chapters 7-9)

Join the Absolute Beginner Book Club here!

チーズスイートホーム home thread

Chapters 7-9

Start date: July 6th
Previous Chapter: Chapters 4-6
Next Chapter: Chapters 10-12

Vocabulary list

Discussion Rules

• Please use spoiler tags for major events in the current chapter(s) and any content in future chapters.
  • When asking for help, please mention the chapter and page number. Also mention what version of the book you are reading.
  • Don’t be afraid of asking questions, even if they seem embarrassing at first. All of us are here to learn.
  • To you lurkers out there: Join the conversation, it’s fun! :cat:

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll.

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading the book but I haven’t reached this chapter yet
  • I’m no longer reading this book
  • I’m skipping this book

0 voters

7 Likes

I created a topic much earlier today, because I’m sick :sweat_smile: And I won’t update the links yet too, it’s hard to do from mobile, but I will do that when I can /o/

2 Likes

Dang. Still on Chapter 1, but then again, I only started yesterday…

1 Like

What I’ve been wondering for a really long time… Does “I’m still reading the book but I haven’t reached this chapter yet” mean “I finished the previous chapters and have arrived at this one but haven’t read it yet” or “I’m so far back I have not arrived at the current chapter and still need to catch up.” ? I never know what to vote for before I actually have read it lol.

The latter :smile:

2 Likes

I’ve always taken it to be an indicator of whether you’re up to speed and therefore able to read along with the group during this week.

So “I haven’t reached this chapter yet” means “I’m still reading the previous chapter so can’t start this one yet, or maybe I’m even, like, four chapters back”.

6 Likes

That’s how I understood it, too.