しろくまカフェ: Week 5 Discussion (Chapters 9 and 10)

Join the Absolute Beginner Book Club here!

しろくまカフェ home thread

Chapters 9 and 10

Start date: April 10th
Previous Chapter: Chapters 7 and 8
Next chapter: Chapters 11-13

Page numbers

b174615ec62c30e5548289f3be860f5e4a748deb

Vocabulary list

You can also check the page numbers for new and old versions here. If you have an old version, chapters 24-28 are in the second volume!

Translations/Grammar Breakdown

Expand for a nested list of links covering each panel
Page 45
Page 46
Page 47
Page 48
Page 49
Page 50
Page 51
Page 52

Discussion Rules

• Please use spoiler tags for major events in the current chapter(s) and any content in future chapters.
  • When asking for help, please mention the chapter and page number. Also mention what version of the book you are reading.
  • Don’t be afraid of asking questions, even if they seem embarrassing at first. All of us are here to learn.
  • To you lurkers out there: Join the conversation, it’s fun! :panda_face:

Participants

Mark your participation status by voting in this poll.

• I’m reading along
  • I’m still reading the book but I haven’t reached this chapter yet
  • I’m no longer reading this book
  • I’m skipping this book
0 voters
5 Likes

Heh, パンダパンだ!

I confess I don’t entirely get the line on page 45 - こねるのにハマっちゃった, even though it’s kneading, I’ve completely taken to it? I’m not clear on how the clauses are related - why “even though”?

Page 52, 獣烈誅遮 on Panda’s biker gang flag… this is basically the old eighties’ biker gang slang of picking random kanji to rework simpler things into complex ateji phrases (his spoken 夜露死苦 is the classic example of that). My question is, is it meant to mean something, or has he just picked random kanji that read as ジューレツチューシャ? “Violent beasts interrupt the death penalty”?