しろくまカフェ Vol 1: Absolute Beginner Book Club

Welcome to the しろくまカフェ Vol 1 Reading Group!

If your Japanese is absolute beginner level, you want to read a book but afraid of doing it alone, welcome to this book club!
This book is part of the Absolute Beginner Bookclub!

SX320_BO1%2C204%2C203%2C200

This manga consists in 4 Volumes. We may end up reading all 4, but for now we’re planning to read the first volume. You can find the book here: Amazon.jp here, Amazon US here, CD Japan here , and eBookJapan here .

The group will begin on March 13th, 2019.

Readers of e-books will probably not have page numbers that correspond to those of the physical books, so please follow along as best you can by simply seeing which sentences are currently under discussion. The group will have a regular pace and after time the pacing will be clear and easy to follow.

This group is ideal for absolute beginners and anyone new to reading in Japanese, and questions from beginners are vitally important. No question is stupid. But of course the group is open to all and will very much rely on the kindness and help of more advanced readers!

As with other reading groups, please try to stay on topic and stay with the pace of the group. The chapters currently being read will appear in the thread title. And, once we’ve started, please ensure you put the page number at the top of each post if you can.

Hoping to see lots of people here on March the 13th!

WARNING!! If you have the old version, you are missing chapters 24-28, these are in your 2nd book (the one with a panda on the cover)!!

Reading Schedule

Reading Date Jump To Discussion
Chapters 1-2 March 13th Discussion
Chapters 3-4 March 20th Discussion
Chapters 5-6 March 27th Discussion
Chapters 7-8 April 3rd Discussion
Chapters 9-10 April 10th Discussion
Chapters 11-13 April 17th Discussion
Chapter 14 April 24th Discussion
Chapters 15-16 May 1st Discussion
Chapters 17-18 May 8th Discussion
Chapters 19-20 May 15th Discussion